Tibet Maps

Tibet Maps Brief

Tibet Maps is about the “Tibetan Cultural Area”, which is compose of Tibet, and the east Tibet of Kham and Amdo. Nowadays, Tibet is also named as Tibet Autonoumous Region. Kham is mainly the Garze Tibetan Autonoumous Prefecture and Aba Tibetan & Qiang Autonoumous Prefecture (Qiang is another minority tribe that has close connection with Tibetan)

It has various complex landforms such as high mountains, deep valleys, glaciers, and bare rocks, vast grassland, countless lakes. All the places in this region lie at an average altitude of more than 4,000 meters. This area is home to the indigenous Tibetan people, and also to other ethnic groups such as the Monpas, Lhobas and Khampas.

The Tibetan plateau has some of the world’s highest mountains, among those Mt. Everest, at 8,848 meters, is the highest peak on Earth, located on the border of Tibet and Nepal. Several great rivers have their source in the Tibetan Plateau, most of them located in Amdo (Currently Qinghai Province). These include Yangtze, Yellow River, Indus River, Mekong, Ganges, Salween and the Yarlung Tsanpo River (Brahmaputra River). The Yarlung Tsangpo Grand Canyon is said to be the deepest and longest canyons in the world.

The following Tibet Maps have been prepared by Tibetan Trekking Travel Co. to show some of the more popular destinations in Tibet, and Eastern Tibet.

Maps are copyright, if you would like to request permission to use on the web or reprint, please contact us.

kham map

Amdo map

Tibet maps