Tibetan Buddhism

In the very beginning, there was only one religion of“Bon” existing in the ancient Tibet plateau of the Xiangxiong kingdom, which now is Burang county. “Bon” was regarded as the source of Tibetan religion, it combined with the buddhism that was intrioduced to Tibet by Tang Dynasty Princess Wencheng, whom came to Tibet for a roral marraige with 33rd Tibet King Songtsen Gampo. Then after the 1st temple of Samye monastery was founded, and being regarded as an embodiment of the Bodhisattva Avalokiteshvara by the second half of the 8th century.


Padmasambhava, who was an Indian Buddhist scholars and known as Guru Rinpoche, had made a great success in developing Buddhism through Tibetan plateau. He visited Tibet after being invited by the 38th Tibet King Trisong Detsen,

Nowadays, Tibetan religion is practiced not only in Tibet but also in Mongolia, Northern India, China mainland, it has made a strong influence in Central Asia, especially in Mongolia and Northeastern China since the 11th century. It was adopted as an official state religion by Yuan Dynasty (1206A.D-1368A.D) and Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) when China was ruled by this two dynasty. It is now still five sects remain including Gelug (Pa), Sakya (Pa), Nyingma (Pa), and Kagyu (Pa), and Bon

The Four Sects of Tibetan Buddhism