Eight Auspicious Symbols

The eight Auspicious Symbols are the attributes of Astamangaladevi, the goddess of good fortune. In the Buddhist tradition these eight symbols of good fortune represent the offerings given by the Great Vedic gods to Sakyamuni Buddha on his attainment of enlightenment.

Symbols' meaning

These Symbols are often seen depicted on house walls, monasteries, among other areas, the symbols and their meaning are as follows:
  • The Golden Fish: represents happiness and beings suffering
  • The Conch Shell: proclaims teachings of enlightenment
  • The Dharma Wheel: symbol of spirituality and the universe
  • The Parasol: protects from evil
  • The Lotus: symbol of purity and spiritual unfolding
  • The Endless Knot: symbolizes meditative mind and Buddha
  • The Treasure Vase: sign of fulfillment of spirituality
  • The Victory Banner: symbolizes the victory of wisdom while overcoming obstacles

What symbol represents

Tibetan tradition identifies these symbols as forming the physical body of the Buddha:
  • The Golden Fish: represents his eyes
  • The Conch Shell: represents his speech
  • The Dharma Wheel: represents his feet
  • The Parasol: represents his head
  • The Lotus: represents his tongue
  • The Endless Knot: represents his mind
  • The Treasure Vase: represents his neck
  • The Victory Banner: represents his body