Eight Auspicious Symbols

Eight Auspicious Symbols

Eight Auspicious Symbols are the means of Astamangala that are the attributes of Astamangaladevi – the goddess of good fortune.

In the Buddhist tradition these eight symbols of good fortune represent the offerings presented by the Great Vedic gods to Sakyamuni Buddha upon his attainment of enlightenment.


The Eight Auspicious Symbols are often seen depicted on house walls, monasteries…etc, the symbols and their meaning are:

  • The Parasol: that protects from all evil
  • The Golden Fish: representing happiness and beings suffering
  • The Treasure Vase: sign of fulfillment of spiritual
  • The Lotus: symbol of purity and spiritual unfoldment
  • The Conch Shell: proclaims the teachings of the enlightened
  • The Endless Knot: symbolizing meditative mind and Buddha
  • The Victory Banner: symbolizes the victory of wisdom overcoming of obstacles
  • The Dharma Wheel: symbol of spiritual and universe

Tibetan tradition identifies these symbols as forming the physical body of the Buddha:

  • The Parasol: representing his head
  • The Golden Fish: representing his eyes
  • The Treasure Vase: representing his neck
  • The Lotus: representing his tongue
  • The Conch Shell: representing his speech
  • The Endless Knot: representing his mind
  • The Victory Banner: representing his body
  • The Dharma Wheel: representing his feet