It was originally called “Rang Ti monastery“, and was built in Ran Ti Gang mountain by Master Dengba who was one of the five scholars of Muya region of Kham.
In the 1st year of Emperor Kangxi of Qing Dynasty (1662 AD), the monastery was moved to curently address at Juli village, hence it is named after the vilage.
The monastery enshrines 108 Volumes of Kangyur which is one of the three only remaining manuscripts with history of more than 1000 years, and well – preserved murals with history of more than 600 years old. In addition, the unique butter flower.
There is one sky-funeral field behind the monastery and slightly above the main hall of the monastery, which holds the sky-funeral in the monrning usually, and not open to the visitors;
Juli Monastery had been reonstructed and expanded three times on the 2nd khenpo (the teacher of 7th Dailai lama), the 24th khenpo of Sangji Gengdan and in 1983; Until now, it has been through 47 generation of khenpo and 3 generation of Rinpoches.
During the first Renpoche of Juli monastery, the Muya Tibetan opera was created, which is very unique from other type of Tibetan opera in the eastan Tibet of Kham, and it became one tradition that to play the Tibetan opera for 3 days from June 28th to 30th anuually
Of the three Rinpoche of JuLi monastery, the most well-known is the 3rd reincarnation of rinpoche, whom is called Fa-Hai Rinpoche (1920 – 1994), he was born in Muli county, and being identified as the 3rd reincarnation of Rinpoche of Juli monastery.
He went to Lhasa to study when he was 12 years old, after 7 years’ hard learning, he passed the exam, and earned degree “Geshe lharampa“, the highest degree in Tibetan Buddhism.
After returning from Lhasa, he began his journey of preaching to Chamdo, Shangri La, Daocheng…etc, all of which are in the remote and hidden regions of Kham. He passed away at age of 74 years old. After cremation, there were 18 sarira left in the ashes, and all of which are now enshrined in the stupa in Juli monastery
Add : Juli village, Xinduqiao
RMB 15 per person
How to get to Juli Monastery
Ju Li Monastery is about 80 kilometers west from Kangding township, from which local buses or taxi are quite easy to be arranged to get to this beautiful town. The closest airport is Kangding airport which is 48 kilometers east from Xinduqiao on the Mt Dzetuo wihtin 1 hour drive;
By flight: there are three daily flights from Chengdu to Kangding, then by local taxi to Xinduqiao which Juli monastery is located at
By long distance bus: it is recommended to get to Chengdu Xin Nan Men Bus station which offers the most frequently buses to Kangding.
In addition, there are other departures to Kangding from Chengdu Cha Dian Zi Bus station, Chengdu Bei Men Bus station, and Shi Yang Chang Bus station, however, all buses ends at Kangding, and it is needed for you to switch to local mini bus or taxi to Xinduqiao, which may take about 3 hours drive to get to Juli monastery from Kangding;
Contact: +86 836 282 7811
IATA Code: KGT
Altitude: 4,238 meters above sea level
Add: No. 2, Xin Nan Road, Chengdu
Contact: +86 28 8543-3609
Working hour: 05:30 am – 21:30 pm